Today, British Heavy Metal giants, Saxon release a super-charged melodic romp of The Beatles’ ‘Paperback Writer’ as third single from their upcoming cover album, Inspirations, set for release March 19th (Silver Lining Music).
“I saw The Beatles on TV for the first time in 1963,” enthuses Biff Byford. “It was a very inspirational moment for me to think maybe I could be in a band!” 
Watch/Listen to ‘Paperback Writer’ at this location; watch/listen to the recently released ‘Paint It Black’ and ‘Speed King’   here
Recorded at Brockfield Hall near York, UK, with a firm eye on the old school way using Marshall cabs, Marshall amps, real drums and produced by Biff Byford with Jacky Lehmann recording and mixing, Saxon approach the likes of Motörhead’s ‘Bomber’ (with added whistle!), Toto’s ‘Hold The Line’, Black Sabbath’s ‘Evil Woman’ and a raucous Deep Purple’s ‘Speed King’ with refreshingly warm, unfiltered, “vintage” sounding renditions.
Continues Byford: “We wanted to do an album based on our influences, the songs and bands that inspired us to write what we did and still do.”
Byford does, indeed, take on some new vocal challenges, which he duly smashes on the likes of Thin Lizzy’s ‘The Rocker’. The net result is that whether cranking up a heavyweight take on Led Zeppelin‘s ‘Immigrant Song’ or throwing down AC/DC’s ‘Problem Child’, Saxon does a supreme job of entertaining both themselves and their audience throughout Inspirations.
The band are as tight as a clam.  […] the whole hangs together majestically under that warm analog production, and yet never fails to get the foot tapping.” – Fistful of Metal
 “Saxon hit the nail on the head with Inspirations […] and deserves all compliments under the sun, and then some.” – Sonic Perspective 
“As we search for the light at the end of the pandemic tunnel, Saxon gives us a reason to smile with this fabulous collection of covers”  Metal Wani
“Most of the songs are heavy rocking anyway but on ‘Inspirations’ Saxon seasoned them well. Total enthusiasm listening to Toto’s ‘Hold the Line’. It is obvious that the fun factor was there and jumps at the listener’
 Classic Rock DE
Nice diversion. Mission accomplished! – Classic Rock IT
“And so, from the idea of the cover album, to have some fun in the dark times, a masterpiece for the fan base emerged. Thank you, SAXON”
An intimate book of memories – Classix Metal
Surprising… a tribute to an entire generation– Suffer Magazine
Track Listing:
  1. Paint It Black
  2. Immigrant Song
  3. Paperback Writer
  4. Evil Woman
  5. Stone Free
  6. Bomber
  7. Speed King
  8. The Rocker
  9. Hold The Line
  10. Problem Child
  11. See My Friends
Follow Saxon on:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s