SAXON to release deluxe Anthology DECADE OF THE EAGLE on Friday, December 1st, 2017 in North America

SAXON to release deluxe Anthology DECADE OF THE EAGLE on Friday, December 1st, 2017 in North America.

BMG will release of SAXON – DECADE OF THE EAGLE – a deluxe anthology featuring 34 tracks, that looks back at the years that built the Saxon legend.  

Additionally, a 1 CD and 1 LP version will be made available for North America, tracklist is below.  

BMG in North America will release the 1 CD, 1 LP versions and and then a limited number of the 4 LP editions on Friday, December 1st, 2017.

Decade Of The Eagle is a retrospective that spans the band’s first nine albums and represents the very best of the first decade of their astonishing career during which time they notched up five Top 40 albums and four Top 20 singles. These 4LP and 2CD deluxe editions feature new liner notes by frontman Biff Byford that document the decade and which are accompanied by rarely seen and classic photos from the era.  
Biff says: “These are the albums from a time in the eighties that moved a generation of rock fans around the world, when British rock was once again at the forefront. Great times – never to be forgotten and still reverberating to this day.”
Saxon played a significant part of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal movement, perhaps the greatest metal genre of them all and have become one of the all-time masters of heavy metal. In doing so, Saxon have ensured they are now representative of the heart and soul from the NWOBHM time. Always remaining true to the values which established them in the first place they are driven by a desire to continuously set the highest standards and meet them head on, Saxon’s work on those nine studio albums still resonates resoundingly – this is timeless stuff. 
Saxon’s music that will continue to inspire Metalheads for generations to come, as it has influenced so many until now. In those immortal words, fill your heads with… HEAVY METAL THUNDER!
1 Stallions Of The Highway

2 Big Teaser

3 Backs To The Wall

4 Militia Guard

5 Wheels Of Steel

6 747 (Strangers In The Night)

7 Suzie Hold On

8 Motorcycle Man (live)

9 Strong Arm Of The Law

10 Heavy Metal Thunder

11 20,000ft (live)

12 Dallas 1PM

13 And The Bands Played On

14 Never Surrender

15 Denim And Leather

16 Fire In the Sky (live)

17 Princess Of The Night

18 Power & The Glory 

19 This Town Rocks

20 The Eagle Has Landed

21 Midas Touch

22 Sailing To America

23 Crusader

24 Devil Rides Out

25 Back On The Streets

26 Rockin’ Again

27 Rock N’ Roll Gypsy

28 Broken Heroes

29 Waiting For The Night

30 Rock The Nations

31 Northern Lady

32 Battle Cry

33 Ride Like The Wind

34 Red Alert

1LP & 1CD Tracklist:
1 Backs To The Wall  

2 Wheels Of Steel  

3 747 (Strangers In The Night)  

4 Strong Arm Of The Law  

5 Denim And Leather 

6 Power And The Glory  

7 Sailing To America  

8 Rock N’Roll Gypsy  

9 Waiting For The Night  

10 Ride Like The Wind 

To pre-order your copy of Decade of The Eagle please visit:
From being pioneers of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal, to becoming one of the most successful UK rock acts of all time, Saxon have always transcended definitions, trends and eras. From 1979’s ‘Saxon’ album to ‘Destiny’ in ’88, the band enjoyed considerable success both in the UK and further afield. It’s no wonder their influence has spread across the globe, and played a crucial role in the way we look at hard rock and heavy metal today. The decade from ’79’s debut record was vital, not only in establishing Saxon’s talent and reputation, but also in laying the foundations for what has followed.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s