Gus G Kicks Off His US Solo Dates at the Whisky by Joe Dolan 10/15/2014


a - IMG_6783a - IMG_6405a - IMG_6489a - IMG_6330a - IMG_6819

a - IMG_6701a - IMG_6437a - IMG_6561   a - IMG_8016a - IMG_6712

Gus G Kicks Off His US Solo Dates at the Whisky

Firewind guitarist and six string slinger that filled the shoes of Zakk Wylde in Ozzy’s band, Gus G.; the Greek Descendent of Metal Guitar Gods, kicked off his four date mini-tour in the US Southwest with a show at the Whisky A Go-Go on the famed Sunset Strip. Branching out on his own with his first Solo World Tour, Gus took the stage on October 15th with vocal hard rock hero Jeff Scott Soto fronting the band and near literally set the roof on fire!
On stage, the band was rounded out by bassist Marty O’Brien, (Disturbed, StaticX, Lita Ford, Tommy Lee) and fellow Firewind compatriot Jo Nunez pounding out the drums, and quite masterfully.  The concert tour celebrates the re-issue of Gus G.’s first solo effort apart from his works with Firewind, Ozzy Osbourne and the multitude of works that he’s been featured on in recent years. The CD features an expanded version of the original release as a CD/DVD Digipak and features four bonus tracks and 62 minutes of live footage on the DVD with bonus guitar tutorials, an official EPK and other video goodies.
Warming the stage for the band was Lynam, the glam styled hard rockers with the look of old school Motley Crue and the sound of everything the genre embraces with straight forward crunching distortion and blazing solo guitar-work. The band hails from Birmingham, AL and in the last decade has grown to be a giant, not just figuratively, but literally. Front man Jacob Bunton stands well in excess of the six-foot mark and towers over the audience shredding the neck of his guitar with precision and authority, almost in a way you just can’t believe until you see it – and you SHOULD see it!
In the middle of the set, Soto announced that they were to play a song that hadn’t been performed live yet. To the delight of show-goers, they played the song Wrath, the first single released off the forthcoming SOTO album, co-written by and featuring Gus G. himself. Throughout the set, Soto departed from the stage allowing Gus and O’Brien to have at it in a wild display of guitar wizardry, the likes FM radio overlooks but metal fans consistently harken to.

a - IMG_7745a - IMG_6689a - IMG_7153

The set list looked like this:
01. My Will Be Done
02. Eyes Wide Open
03. Blame It On Me
04. Vengeance
05. Summer Days
06. Wrath
07. World On Fire
08. Fire & Fury
09. Terrified
10. Into The Void
11. Redemption
12. I Am The Fire
13. Crazy Train
a - IMG_6866a - IMG_6986a - IMG_7299a - IMG_7128a - IMG_7118a - IMG_7240
Gus G. will follow this show with three more Southwest appearances; at Vamp’d Vegas, a hotspot for talent touring through, at the Ramona Mainstage in Ramona, CA and at Club Red in Mesa Arizona, before taking the show over to Germany for a series of dates and across Europe and the UK through the end of 2014.
Find Gus G. online and hear the new album at his official website, and find the newly re-issued CD titled I Am The Fire on iTunes and Amazon with links to sale locations found directly on the Gus G. website.
Gus G. is on Facebook at:

a - IMG_6890 a - IMG_6892 a - IMG_6958     a - IMG_7208  a - IMG_7261  a - IMG_7355 a - IMG_7516 a - IMG_7521 a - IMG_7583


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s